www.problemgambling.ca Centre for Addiction and Mental Health 標識語


有關角子老虎機

角子老虎機是世界上其中一種最流行,也是潛在最大傷害性的賭博形式之一。 安省大約有22,000台角子老虎機, 安省博彩局還宣佈擴充計劃,此舉會大大增加角子老虎機的數量。

談論賭博問題,我們的注意力經常集中在賭博人士身上, 然而,更重要的是遊戲本身亦能導致各種賭博問題的發生。 以角子老虎機為例,超快的遊戲速度,促進假象圖案的設計經常誤導玩家對角子老虎機的看法而製造了不少問題。如果角子老虎機的玩家能夠清楚了解到這些設計所帶來的風險,對他們會有一定的幫助。

  1. 贏的機率
  2. 遊戲速度(簡稱玩速)
  3. 重量的卷軸
  4. 不平均的卷軸
  5. 假贏
  6. 差點贏
  7. 停止按鈕
  8. 「代用積分」相對「貨幣」
  9. 小贏
  10. 鼓勵下最大賭注

角子老虎機設計上的問題:

1. 贏的機率

角子老虎機的贏面通常不是很好。 賭場賺錢是因為他們保留了一定比例的賭金。其餘沒有被扣起的賭金就會以隨機賠率形式輸給玩家。角子老虎機的賠率是建立在幾千和幾百萬分之一的旋轉上,那即是說,每一局的遊戲結果都不能預測或計算,今天有玩家從某台角子老虎機赢大錢並不表示在同一個賭場內的某一日裏會發生甚麼事情。

角子老虎機能夠盈利是因為他們內置的程式只容許玩家贏得部份的彩金。而且角子老虎機是經過設計和測試以確保它不會輸錢。安省角子老虎機的賠率設計是賠出總彩金的85% 或以上,那即是說,賭場從每台角子老虎機裏可以最多賺取15% 的賭金。 然而,不是所有角子老虎機都設置同樣的百分比,同一個遊戲,只要版本設計不一樣,它們內設的回報百分比範圍從85%到98%不等。但由於這些不同版本的角子老虎機看起來都是一樣的,玩家是無法知道個別角子老虎機的回報百分比。儘管一般賭博遊戲的輸赢機率都有可能被計算出來,唯獨角子老虎機沒有提供所需要的資訊讓玩家知道。

2. 遊戲速度(簡稱玩速)

通常角子老虎機的玩速比其他遊戲快, 所以喜歡這種玩意的人會輸得更快。 角子老虎機提供一個連續式的賭博, 玩家可以在每小時下注多達600 到 1,200次。

3. 重量卷軸

多數的賭博人士都不知道角子老虎機的卷軸是有重量的, 所以贏小錢的圖案會比贏大錢的圖案出現得更頻繁。賭場不能用有重量不均的骰子或把很多紙牌疊在一起, 但是重量卷軸在角子老虎機出現是常見的,大多數玩家並不了解這一點。有興趣了解更多,請點擊觀看影片:

4. 不平均卷軸

不平均的卷軸是指有些卷軸中大獎的圖案比其他卷軸少。 這樣的話, 兩個大獎圖案同時出現的機會遠比三個大獎圖案同時出現高。如是者,玩家很容易有「我差一點就贏」的錯覺。

卷軸高速轉動的時候,玩家彷彿看見所有的圖案,以為它們出現的機率都一樣,事實並非如此,因為他們根本不知道其中的一個卷軸少了贏大獎的圖案。

5. 假贏

假贏是指玩家贏的錢少於他們投入的賭金。雖然玩家整體來說還是輸錢,角子老虎機會把這些時刻當成贏局並奏起音樂造就氣氛,這樣,玩家很容易會有贏錢的錯覺。想知道多一點,點擊這裏觀看影片:

6. 差點贏

「差點贏」是指大獎的圖案在贏線的上面或下面出現, 看上去好像只差一點就贏了。 大多數的玩家真的相信他們差一點就贏。事實是,輸了便是輸了。圖案在贏線上下出現並不表示你很快便會贏得累積獎金。

然而,研究證明「差點贏」會給玩家繼續下注的動力,因為他們覺得「很快就會贏」。 在安省,賭場可以合法設定角子老虎機的程式,讓「差點贏」的場面出現次數比自然發生機率多出十二倍。

7. 停止按鈕

「停止按鈕」給玩家一種可以控制的幻覺, 實際上按鈕對結果並沒有任何影響。 卷軸開始轉動的一刻, 結果已經確定,遊戲亦已經結束。 那即是說,在玩家按按鈕的同時,輸贏已成定局, 只是卷軸要轉五到六秒之後才能顯示結果。 想知道更多訊息, 請點擊以下的影片:

8. 「代用積分」相對「貨幣」

當玩家把金錢放入角子老虎機的一刻, 貨幣自動就轉變成為代用積分,當玩家專注留意他們還有多少積分時,往往忘卻他們實際賭了多少錢。這可能會導致玩家「超支」。玩家需要將代用積分兌換成貨幣才知道他們真正花掉的金額。 在安省, 很多角子老虎機都有顯示下注的總數目,但是,這些顯示牌的位置和大小都是很難看到的。

9. 小贏

玩角子老虎機的時候,玩家可能會遇到頻密的「小贏」。這些「小贏」是不足以彌補輸掉的總金額,而贏的錢通常再會投注到遊戲中,比方說,玩家從一百元開始玩,但結果賭注會多於一百元,因為他們會把從「小贏」得回來的金錢繼續下注。 就像「假贏」會給玩家一個假像,認為自己表現比實際情況好。 同樣道理,經歷「小贏」的玩家很容易產生幻覺,認為繼續賭會令他們中大獎。但事實上,繼續玩下去通常會令他們輸得更多。 一般的人中大獎之後會停止再賭,相反地,「小贏」卻鼓勵玩家繼續賭下去。

10. 鼓勵最大賭注

你是否知道你可以在「一仙」的角子老虎機上每局下注三元嗎?這是因為「多線」的遊戲中,玩家可以選擇同時下注多於一「線」。通常情況下,角子老虎機本身會鼓勵玩家作「多線投資」,如以下的圖片中所顯示:

吃角子老虎機顯示最大限度的賭注

總結

角子老虎機是賭場龐大收入的來源,該遊戲的設計主要讓玩家繼續玩下去,為經營者獲得最大盈利。角子老虎機的某些功能設計經常誤導玩家,令他們相信自己的贏面比實際的情況大。玩家有需要明白這些遊戲設計的內容,可以為一些人帶來刺激,但同時亦會誤導其他人而造成問題。

致謝

資料選自Kevin Harrigan, PhD 的作品。Kevin是滑鐵盧大學教授,現任教電腦遊戲設計,對硏究角子老虎機有一定的心得。這部份使用的視頻都是他團隊的製作。

賭博小測驗
回答以下九個問題,可以幫你了解賭博是否對你的生活有負面的影響。
監控你的賭博和衝動
這個在線工具可以幫助你追蹤記錄你的賭博行為和想要賭博的衝動。 也可以下載手機App.
給賭博人士的自助指南
你有賭博的習慣嗎? 這些互動工具能幫助你探討、減少,甚至停止賭博。
給家人和朋友的自助指南
你關心的人當中有人沉迷賭博嗎?透過這些互動練習,你可以了解他們賭博的原因和學習怎樣幫助他們。

www.problemgambling.ca


About Slot Machines

Slot machine play is one of the most popular forms of gambling in the world and also potentially one of the most harmful. There are approximately 22,000 slot machines in Ontario presently and Ontario Lottery and Gaming has announced expansion plans that could increase that number significantly.

While much of the focus around gambling problems is aimed at the individual gambler, it is also important to look at ways that the games themselves contribute to gambling problems. High speed of play and features that promote false beliefs comprise some of the more problematic elements associated with slot machines. Slot machine players may find it helpful to be aware of those features that may make slot machine play more risky.

  1. Odds of Winning
  2. Speed of Play
  3. Weighted Reels
  4. Unbalanced Reels
  5. False Wins
  6. Near Misses
  7. Stop Button
  8. Credits vs. Currency
  9. Small Wins
  10. Encouraging Maximum Wager

Problematic Features of Slot Machines

1. Odds of Winning

The odds of winning on slot machines are usually not very good. Casinos make money because they hold on to a percentage of the money wagered by players. The percentage of the money that is not held is eventually paid out to the players over the long term. Slot machine payout rates are based upon hundreds of thousands or even millions of spins, so they don’t reflect what will happen on a particular day at the casino.

Slot machines are profitable because they are programmed to pay out only a percentage of the money that is wagered. As well, the machines are designed and tested to make sure they don’t lose money over time. Slot machines in Ontario are set to pay back at 85 per cent or higher, so the casino can hold onto as much as 15 per cent of the money wagered on a slot machine. Not all machines are set at this rate, however, and different versions of the same game may have payback percentages ranging from 85 per cent to 98 per cent. But because these different versions look the same, players have no way of knowing the payout percentage of any individual machine they are playing. So while it is possible to calculate the odds of winning and losing with other forms of gambling, only slot machines withhold the information needed to figure out those odds.

2. Speed of Play

Slot machines are usually played at a much faster rate than other games, so players can lose money much more quickly. Slot play offers a continuous form of gambling, with players able to complete as many as 600 to 1,200 spins per hour.

3. Weighted Reels

Most players don’t realize that the reels on slot machines are weighted so that low-paying symbols come up much more often than jackpot symbols. A casino cannot use a weighted dice or a stacked deck of cards, but weighted reels are common in slot machines, and most players are not aware of this. To learn more, click on the video below:

4. Unbalanced Reels

Unbalanced reels are created when one reel contains fewer jackpot symbols than the other reels. This makes it more likely that players will see two jackpot symbols but less likely they will see three. This creates a type of near miss.

When players watch the reels spinning, it looks as if all symbols have an equal chance of coming up, but this is not the case. Players would have no way of knowing that one of the reels is lacking in jackpot symbols and could believe they have a better chance of winning than they really do.

5. False Wins

A false win occurs when the amount the player wins on a spin is less than the amount wagered. The slot machine celebrates this as a win even though the player lost money on the spin. Players may feel as if they are winning when they are not. To learn more, click on the video below:

6. Near Misses

A near miss occurs when a jackpot symbol appears directly above or below the payline, making it appear that it was one spot away from a win. Players may believe that they almost won, but the truth is that a loss is a loss. The symbols displayed above or below the payline have nothing to do with how close the player was to winning the jackpot.

Research has shown that near misses motivate players to continue playing, because they feel they are “close” to winning. In Ontario, it is legal to program near misses above and below the payline to occur up to 12 times more often than they would occur naturally as a result of chance.

7. Stop Button

The stop button may give players the illusion of control but has no impact on the outcome of the game. In fact, by the time the reels are spinning, the outcome has already been determined; the game is over. The outcome was decided the instant the player pressed the spin button, but the reels spin for five to six seconds before displaying that outcome to the player. To learn more, click on the video below:

8. Credits vs. Currency

When someone puts money into a slot machine, it is automatically converted into credits. The focus on credits means that players are less aware of the amount of money they are spending. This may lead players to overspend. Players have to multiply the number of credits by the cost per credit to determine how much they have actually spent. In Ontario, many machines will also display the dollar amount, but in a position and size that makes it harder to notice.

9. Small Wins

When playing a slot machine, a player may experience frequent small wins. These small wins are not enough to compensate for the amount of money lost, and the money from the wins is usually rolled back into the game. As a result, a player may begin playing with $100 but may bet much more than that over the period of play because the small wins are added to the original investment of $100. Like false wins, small wins give players the feeling that they are doing better than they really are. This may create the illusion that continuing to play will lead to a large win, when in fact extended play typically leads to more losses. Players are more likely to stop playing when they have a large win and more likely to continue gambling when they have a smaller win.

10. Encouraging Maximum Wager

Did you know that you can wager $3.00 per spin on a “one cent” machine? That is because with multi-line games, players can choose to play many credits over many lines. Often, the machines themselves will encourage players to play the maximum number of lines, as shown in the picture below.

Conclusion

Slot machines are huge revenue generators, and many of their features are designed to keep players in their seats in order to maximize revenue for the operator. Some of the machines’ features, however, may lead people to believe they have a better chance of winning than they actually do. Players need to be aware of these game features, as some of the same elements that make slot machine play exciting for some people can be misleading and cause problems for others.

Acknowledgments

This content is based on the work of Kevin Harrigan, PhD, from the University of Waterloo. Kevin is a professor who teaches computer-game design and conducts research on slot machines. His team also produced the videos used in this section.

Introductory Video
View a short introductory video to learn more about the Self-Help Gambling Tools.
Gambling Quiz
Answering these nine questions will help you understand if gambling is having a negative impact on your life.
Monitor Your Gambling & Urges
Use this tool to keep track of when you gamble, or feel the urge to gamble. Mobile App also available.
Community Forum
Share with other people affected by problem gambling on this discussion board.
Self-Help for Those who Gamble
Do you gamble? These interactive tools will help you explore, cut down or stop gambling.
Self-Help for Family and Friends
Does someone you care about gamble too much? With these interactive excercises, learn why they gamble and what you can do to help.